Bengaluru, May 5: Polling will be held in 224 constituencies of Karnataka Assembly, including Muddebihal, Devar Hippargi, Basavana Bagevadi, Babaleshwar and Bijapur City Vidhan Sabha seats, on May 12. The result of election in Muddebihal, Devar Hippargi, Basavana Bagevadi, Babaleshwar and Bijapur City seats will be declared on May 15. The Karnataka Assembly election 2018 is a direct fight between the ruling Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Also Read - Bihar Assembly Election 2020 LIVE News And Updates: Modi Hits Out at Oppn Over MSP, Asks Why They Didn't Decide on MSP While in Power

In Muddebihal Assembly constituency, the Congress has fielded incumbent MLA Nadagouda Appaji Urf Channabasavaraj Shankararao against BJP’s Ameenappa Gouda S Patil (Nadahalli). In a bid to retain Devar Hippargi seat, the Congress chose a new candidate – B S Patil (Yalagi) – against BJP’s Somanagouda B Patil (Sasanur). The seat was earlier won by Aminappagouda Sanganagouda Patil (Nadahalli) of the Congress. Also Read - BJP’s ‘Free Vaccine’ Promise For Bihar in Its Poll Manifesto Draws Opposition Fire | All You Need to Know

The Congress fielded Shivanand S Patil in Basavana Bagevadi Assembly seat. Patil, who won the seat in 2013 Karnataka elections, will face BJP’s Sangaraj Desai this time. In Babaleshwar Vidhan Sabha seat, the contest is between incumbent MLA of Congress Mallanagoud Basanagoud Patil and Vijayakumar Sidramgouda Patil of the BJP. Also Read - 19 Lakh Jobs, Free Coronavirus Vaccine: BJP Releases Manifesto For Bihar Assembly Election 2020

The Bijaopur City seat witnessed an electoral fight between the Congress’s Abdul Hameed Mushrif and Basanagoud R Patil (Yatnal) of the BJP. The seat is currently held by Makbul S Bagawan of the Congress. In the outgoing assembly, the Congress has 122 legislators. On the other hand, the BJP has 48 legislators, including four from the Karnataka Janata Party, a regional outfit, Yeddyurappa floated in December 2012 after he left the party owing to his removal as Chief Minister.