Mumbai Marathon: The 16th edition of the the prestigious Tata Mumbai Marathon 2019 was flagged off by legendary boxer Mary Kom from Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT) on Sunday. The total prize money awarded will be USD 405,000.Also Read - Mumbai Local Train Latest News: Govt's Decision to Allow Only Fully Vaccinated People in Local Trains Challenged in Bombay HC

The event is being held under six categories – marathon, half marathon, open 10K run, dream run, senior citizens’ run and champions with disability. As per a report, 8,414 runners are expected to participate in the Full Marthon, 15, 457  in Half Marathon, 2,516 in Open 10K, 17,661 in Dream Run, 1,005 in Senior Citizens Run, and 1,301 in Champions with Disability. Also Read - Maharashtra Lockdown: Demand to Resume Local Train Services For General Public Grows | 5 Latest Updates Every Mumbaikar Must Know

(Mumbai Marathon 2019: Special Local Trains to Operate on Central, Harbour And Western Line) Also Read - Mumbai Rains: BEST Buses Diverted, Several Local Trains Suspended As Downpour Lash City | Full List

While races in all other categories started from CSMT, the starting point of the half marathon is Worli Dairy. The finishing point for half marathon and open 10K run is Hazarimal Somani Marg. The champions with disability race will finish on MG Road near traffic police and the dream run and senior citizens will finish at the Metro.

In the men’s elite race, leading the pack is the fastest man in the running field — Abera Kuma from Ethopia — with a personal best (PB) of 02:05:50, aiming for Tata Mumbai Marathon course record, whereas in the women’s category, Ethiopia’s Amane Gobena with her personal best timing of 02:21:51 is all set to defend women’s title.

The other elite athletes to look out for will be Mongolian Marathon record holder, Serod Batochir, Dinknesh Mekash from Bekoji, Ethopia (known as the ‘Town of Runners’), and Kenya’s Jacob Kendagor. The Indian men’s race is also expected to be a close encounter. Defending Champion and Asian Marathon Champion, Gopi Thonakal will face a strong opposition with the Tata Mumbai Marathon course record holder Nitendra Singh Rawat.

The other big names in the fray are Rashpal Singh, who has PB of 2:19:19, Karan Singh with a PB of 2:22:17, and Bahadur Singh Dhoni with a PB of 2:19:13 .

In the wake of the event, the Mumbai Traffic Police has issued an advisory about the roads which are to be avoided. The BEST buses will not ply on certain routes during the event. Besides, the timings of at least four Mumbai local trains also have been changed.

Live Updates

  • 8:05 AM IST

    Mumbai Marathon 2019 LIVE: Speaking to reporters, Amitesh Kumar, Joint Commissioner of Police (Traffic) said, “Road diversions have been made, and traffic constables are deployed to assist the common man to look for a substitute route.”

  • 8:04 AM IST

    Mumbai Marathon 2019 LIVE: The city has marked around 62 ‘No Entry’ points, however there are more than 15 roads that can be taken as substitutes.

  • 7:56 AM IST

  • 7:53 AM IST

    Mumbai Marathon 2019 LIVE: The timings of at least four Mumbai local trains have been changed in an attempt to facilitate the runners. The Central Railway has announced the change in timings of two suburban trains. Besides, the Western Railway has also decided to run two special trains for the Mumbai Marathon participants.

  • 7:25 AM IST
    Mumbai Marathon 2019 LIVE: If Mumbaikars want to travel from Malabar Hill to the airport, they may take Nepean Sea Road and go under Pedder Road flyover through August Kranti Marg-Nana Chowk-Javji Dadaji Marg-Mumbai central bridge-Maratha Mandir-Saat Rasta-Mahalaxmi station-Tulsi pipe Road-Western Express Highway.
  • 7:18 AM IST

    Mumbai Marathon 2019 LIVE: During the Mumbai Marathon, the buses plying from CST to Colaba-Navy Nagar will be diverted through the P D’Mello Road and Shahid Bhagat Singh Marg.

  • 7:17 AM IST

    Mumbai Marathon 2019 LIVE: Traffic coming from the suburbs towards south Mumbai will be diverted from Doordarshan Bhavan.

  • 7:17 AM IST

    Mumbai Marathon 2019 LIVE: The authorities have advised commuters to use public transport. Western Railway will have two special trains running from Virar at 2.45 am and 3.05 am. Central Railway will run one special train from Kalyan at 3 am while Harbour line passengers will have a train starting at 3.10 am from Panvel.

  • 6:56 AM IST

    Mumbai Marathon 2019 LIVE: In the wake of the event, the traffic department had said Bandra-Worli-Sealink and NS Road on Marine Drive will remain shut for vehicular movement till 1 pm today.