New Delhi, Feb 27: At least one person was injured in a bomb blast which took place at a polling booth in Nagaland’s Tizit district on Tuesday. According to reports, unidentified men hurled a crude bomb at a polling station at around 5:45 AM.Also Read - North East Assembly Elections Results 2018: BJP Demolishes Left in Tripura, Certain to Form Government in Nagaland

Nagaland Assembly Elections: Live Updates Also Read - Nagaland Election Result 2018: Janata Dal (United) Decides to Support BJP to Form Stable Govt in State

A village council member was injured in the incident which took place just hours before voting for Assembly elections in the state. Also Read - Narendra Modi Halts Speech For Azaan

Voting on 59 seats of the 60-seat Nagaland Assembly began amid tight security at 7 AM.  In Nagaland, NDPP chief Neiphiu Rio has been declared elected unopposed from the Northern Angami-II constituency. As many as 281 companies of the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF), beside the state police force, are deployed throughout Nagaland to ensure a peaceful election.

In Nagaland, BJP’s hope hinges on its alliance partner NDPP (the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party) of Neiphiu Rio, which is contesting from 40 seats. The saffron party has fielded candidates from the remaining 20 seats.

The Congress, which has given three chief ministers to Nagaland since the state’s inception in 1963, is contesting from only 18 seats, two less than the BJP, an emerging entity in the north-east.

A total of 11,91,513 voters — 6,01,707 (50.50 per cent) men and 5,89,806 (49.50 per cent) women — will exercise their franchise tomorrow. There are also 5,925 service voters.

(With inputs from agencies)