New Delhi, Feb 13: Nagaland’s Former chief minister and leader of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), Neiphiu Rio became the first winner in the Assembly polls after his opponent  Chupfuo Angami, Naga People’s Front (NPF) candidate withdrew his nomination on Monday. Rio is the chief ministerial Candidate of the NDPP,  a BJP ally and was contesting from Northern Angami II constituency under Kohima district.

Nagaland chief electoral officer Abhijit Sinha said that Rio, who is representing the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), was elected unopposed after his lone opponent withdrew from the contest. He had quit the NPF last month and joined the newly-formed Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party NDPP.

However this is not the first time that Rio has been elected unopposed. In 1998 also, a similar situation happened  wherein Rio was elected unopposed as a Congress candidate. (Here is the complete schedule of Nagaland Assembly Elections 2018)

About Nagaland Elections: 

With this, a total of 195 candidates, including five women are in the fray for upcoming polls scheduled to be held on February 27. Meanwhile, Nagaland Chief Electoral Officer, Abhijit Sinha assured a free and fair election in the state. VVPAT machine along with EVMs will be used in all the polling stations for casting the votes.