Kohima, May 27: Nagaland Lok Sabha constituency is all set to go to bypoll on Monday. The by-poll is a straight contest between ruling Peoples Democratic Alliance (PDA) candidate Tokheho Yepthomi and opposition NPF nominee C Apok Jamir. Nagaland Lok Sabha bypoll was necessitated following the resignation of Neiphiu Rio from the Lok Sabha in February. Rio is presently the chief minister of the state. The counting of votes will take place on May 31. Also Read - Nagaland Government Extends Statewide Lockdown With Existing SOPs Till May 31

Voting in 1855 polling stations will start at 7 am and end at 4 pm while in 309 booths it was end an hour ahead, Chief Electoral Officer Abhijit Sinha said on Saturday, adding that 253 polling stations would have all women polling teams while two polling booths in Wokha district would be manned by only differently-abled polling personnel. Also Read - UP Panchayat Election 2021: Third Phase of Polling in Meerut, Moradabad, Jalaun And Others on Monday

A total of 11,97,436 electorate, comprising 6,07,589 men and 5,89,847 women voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise. Out of the 2196 polling stations, 260 are declared as “critical” and 211 as “vulnerable”. Meanwhile, 225 polling stations would have live web screening and 257 off-line videography. 3196 EVMs and 3075 VVPAT machines had been dispatched for all the polling stations. Also Read - Cop Takes Care of Baby While Mother Casts Vote in Tamil Nadu, Heartfelt Picture Goes Viral

A total of 40 companies of Central Armed Police Forces along with 80 companies of the Nagaland Armed Police, 770 home guards and 2600 village guards have been deployed for the bypoll.

As quoted by PTI, Returning Officer M Patton claimed that during campaigning, various forces had seized Rs 84,000 and 8829 litres of liquor.

Apart from Nagaland, bypoll is scheduled to be held in three Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly constituencies across nine states.