Shimla, December 18: The counting of votes begin in Nagrota, Nurpur, Palampur, Shahpur and Sullah Assembly constituencies of Himachal Pradesh. The single-phase Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections is witnessing a close contest between the ruling Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party. Both the parties have fielded candidates in all the 68 constituencies of the state with many senior leaders and state ministers in the fray. The voting took place on November 9.Also Read - WATCH: Snowfall Sets Foot In Himachal's Lahual-Spiti Valley; Traffic Beyond Manali-Leh Highway Stopped

Nagrota Also Read - Haryana Woman Arrested Day After Her Range Rover SUV Rammed Himachal Man's Car, Killing Him on Spot

The counting is underway in constituency number 15, Nagrota, of Himachal Pradesh. In 2012 Assembly polls, Congress’s GS Bali defeated Independent candidate Arun Kumar by just 2,743 seats. This time, Congress has fielded its sitting MLA Bali while the BJP has given the ticket to Kumar. Also Read - Planning A Trip To Northern Mountains? IMD Issues Orange Alerts THESE States. Deets Here


The counting is underway in Nurpur constituency of Himachal Pradesh. In last Assembly elections, Congress’s Ajay Mahajan defeated Independent candidate Rakesh Pathania by just a little over 3,000 votes. The Congress has the ticket to its sitting MLA Mahajan and BJP has fielded the 2012 runner-up Pathania.


The counting is underway in constituency number 19, Palampur, of Himachal Pradesh. In 2012 state polls, Congress’s Brij Behari Lal Butail defeated BJP’s Parveen Kumar. This time, the Congress has given the ticket to Ashish Butail against BJP’s Sushree lndu Gauswamy.


The counting is underway is Shahpur constituency of Himachal Pradesh. In 2012 Assembly polls, BJP’s Sarveen defeated Congress’s Vijai Singh by just 3,000 votes. In this state polls, BJP has given the ticket to its sitting MLA Sarvin Chaudhary against Congress’s Kewal Singh Pathania.


The counting of votes is underway in constituency number 14, Sullah, of Himachal Pradesh. In 2012 state polls, Congress’s Jagjiwan Paul defeated BJP’s Vipin Singh Parmar by a little over 4,000 votes. Both the Congress and BJP have fielded its past candidates in 2017 polls.

Live Updates

  • 6:51 PM IST

    Sitting BJP MLA Sarveen Choudhary defeated Independent candidate Major (retired) Vijai Singh Mankotia in Shahpur.

  • 6:48 PM IST

    BJP’s Rakesh Pathania defeated Congress’s Ajay Mahajan by 6642 votes in Nurpur.

  • 5:34 PM IST

    It’s a symbol of people’s confidence in Congress. Thankful that they made me victorious. We have never stepped back from serving people in Sujanpur and we will always serve them: Rajinder Rana, Congress candidate who won in Sujanpur against BJP’s Prem Kumar Dhumal

  • 5:32 PM IST

    BJP candidate Vipin Singh Parmar defeats sitting Congress MLA Jagjiwan Paul in Sullah.

  • 5:18 PM IST

    We are sad about Prem Kumar Dhumal losing but we are happy that people of Himachal Pradesh voted for BJP: Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan

  • 5:17 PM IST

    Congress candidate Ashish Butail defeats BJP’s Indu Goswami by 4324 votes in Palampur.

  • 4:45 PM IST

    Personal loss is not of much importance. The gain that victory has brought to state BJP is important. Thankful to people of the state for voting for BJP. In politics, sometimes one wins, sometimes one losses. I was not expecting to lose, I will do an analysis: PK Dhumal

  • 4:44 PM IST

    Congress campaign in Gujarat polls under Rahul Gandhi’s leadership is moral victory for party, says senior Congress leader Ashok Gehlot

  • 4:43 PM IST

    The Congress party accepts the verdict of the people and congratulates the new governments in both states. I thank the people of Gujarat and Himachal with all my heart for the love they showed me: Congress President Rahul Gandhi

  • 4:41 PM IST

    My Congress brothers and sisters, you have made me very proud. You are different than those you fought because you fought anger with dignity. You have demonstrated to everyone that the Congress’s greatest strength is its decency and courage: Congress President Rahul Gandhi