Nakodar(Jalandhar), March 11: The results of Punjab assembly elections 2017 have been declared today. The counting of votes in Nakodar, which was contested along with other constituencies on February 4 was declared. Gurupratap Singh Wadala from Shiromani Akali Dal won the Nakodar seat with 56241 votes. The contest in Nakodar had turned triangular with the entry of Aam Aadmi Party Candidate Sarwan Singh Hayer. CATCH – Assembly Election Results 2017 LIVE News UpdatesAlso Read - Schools, Colleges to Reopen In Delhi From Nov 29 As Air Quality Improves Marginally | Check Details

In previous assembly elections, the constituency was won by Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Gurpartap Singh Wadala by defeating Congress Candidate Amarjit Singh Samra. He defeated Samra by a margin of 8587 votes. Akali Dal has decided to field its sitting MLA Gurpartap Singh Wadala to avoid any chances of defeat. However, the Congress has fielded Jagbir Singh Brar for the seat.Congress is contesting assembly elections under the leadership of Captain Amarinder Singh who has declared these elections to be his last elections. WATCH – Assembly Election Results 2017 LIVE Streaming Also Read - Goa Assembly Elections 2022: Arvind Kejriwal Promises Unemployment Allowance, Job Quota For Locals

As per the data released by the Election Commission, the total number of votes cast in this constituency during the 2017 elections is 143057 and the voting percentage is recorded at 77.37%, which is higher than the state average of 77.4%. Also Read - Ahead of Uttarakhand Polls, Arvind Kejriwal Promises Job Quota, Unemployment Allowance | Deets Inside

The total number of voters in Nakodar assembly seat is 184910. The election commission has established 244 polling stations and these polling stations are situated at 170 different locations across this assembly segment. CATCH – Uttar Pradesh Election Results 2017 LIVE Updates