Mumbai, Oct 12: The Congress raced its way to taking an early lead as counting of votes was underway for the Nanded Waghala Municipal Corporation Election. It now remains to be seen whether the Congress will go on to retain the 81-seat municipal corporation. It had won 41 seats in the Nanded civic polls in 2012. (Get Live updates on counting here)

In 2012, Shiv Sena with 12 seats was a distant second, followed by Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Muslimeen (AIMIM) with 11 seats. While the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won 10 seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) could bag just two seats. Out of 81 seats, 41 seats are reserved for women candidates, 15 seats for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates, 2 for Scheduled Tribes (ST) and 22 seats for Backward Class communities. (Check list of winners of 2017 here)

Nanded Waghala Municipal Corporation Election is being viewed as a litmus test for the former Maharashtra Chief Minister and current state Congress unit president Ashok Chavan, whose father late Shankarrao Chavan had nurtured the constituency over years. During the campaigning, Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis attacked Congress as well as Shiv Sena. The BJP said voting for the Shiv Sena would mean bringing the Congress to power as the two parties had joined hands in Aurangabad Municipal Corporation polls.