Also Read - West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021: Shiv Sena Extends Support to TMC, Says Won’t Fight in State

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expanded his cabinet and inducted 21 new ministers. Out of these, four are Cabinet ministers while 17 are Minister of States. Now the Modi cabinet has 65 ministers. In the first expansion of Modi Cabinet, Former Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, Shiv Sena leader Suresh Prabhu, JP Nadda and Birender Singh got place in Cabinet berth. Also Read - 'Won't Lose Match As Stadium's Name is Narendra Modi': Uddhav Thackeray's Dig Over Renaming of Motera stadium

Singer Babul Supriyo, Telangana’s Bandaru Dattatreya, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Vijay Sampla, Yashwant Sinha’s son Jayant Sinha, Olympic medallist Rajyavardhan Rathore, Giriraj Singh, Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, Ram Shankar Katheriya, YS Chaudhury, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Mahesh Sharma from UP, Ram Kripal Yadav, Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary, Sanwar Lal Jat and Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya sworn-in as Ministers of State. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi is the second Muslim face in Modi Cabinet and for the first time an olympian also got place in the cabinet. Also Read - Social Media Star Death Case: Shiv Sena Leader Sanjay Rathod Resigns as Maharashtra Minister

The cabinet expansion was surrounded with political drama when Shiv Sena leader Anil Desai, who was expected to be inducted in cabinet, was asked to return from Delhi airport by Sena President Uddhav Thackeray. Not only that, Sena boycotted the swear in ceremony as well. However, Sena leader Suresh Prabhu is inducted in Cabinet but he was not nominated by the party.

The new expansion is a balanced one between regional representation and political ambitions. Suresh Prabhu’s induction who has good track record indicates that Modi is preferring merit over party politics. New ministers will soon get their portfolios.