New Delhi, February 26: The polling in Meghalaya will be held on Tuesday and it could be a battle of existence for the Congress and a test for the BJP which is fighting hard to get Christian electorates. The results will be announced on March 3 in the north-eastern state.

In Meghalaya, there are 60 Assembly seats but voting will be held for 59 seats. In the north-eastern state of Meghalaya, the election for the Williamnagar seat was countermanded after suspected militants killed NCP leader Jonathane N Sangma with an improvised explosive device. (Check out complete details on Meghalaya Assembly Elections)

Here are some details of Nartiang, Jowai, Raliang, Mowkaiaw, Sutnga Saipung Assembly seats: 

Nartiang Assembly Constituency: In Nartiang assembly constituency there is a tough fight between the BJP and the Congress party. In 2013, Congress candidate Sniawbhalang Dhar had won from this seat by a huge margin but this time he is contesting on NPP’s ticket. Dhar defeated his IND rival Hilarius Dkhar with around 9,500 votes. In Nartiang, people have to choose between Draison Kharshiing (BJP), Jopthiaw Lyngdoh (Congress), Couple Stone Shylla (IND), Sniawbhalang Dhar (NPP) and Innocent Shadap (KHNAM).

Jowai Assembly Constituency: In Jowai assembly constituency, polling will be held tomorrow and there is a tough fight between the Congress, BJP and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). In previous assembly elections, Congress leader Roytre Christopher Laloo had won from the Jowai constituency by defeating and independent candidate Moonlight Pariat with 8,817 votes. Banrilang Jungai (AAP), Marki Mulieh (BJP), Awhai Andrew Shullai (INC), Moonlight Pariat (UDP), Wailadmiki Shylla (NPP) are some of the candidates contesting from Jowai assembly constituency.

Raliang Assembly Constituency: In Raliang Vidhan Sabha seat there is a tough fight between the Congress and the BJP. Present sitting MLA of Raliang assembly constituency is Comingone Ymbon from Congress. In Raliang, five powerful candidates are in the fray: Lakhon Biam (BJP), Wanjop Susngi (Congress), Richard Singh Lyngdoh (IND), Konstan Sungoh (UDP) and the current MLA Comingone Ymbon from NPP.

Mowkaiaw Assembly Constituency: In Mowkaiaw assembly constituency there is a three-way battle between the Congress the BJP and NCP. Robinus Syngkon, the sitting MLA of Mowkaiaw assembly constituency who earlier contested the elections as an independent candidate is now contesting on BJP’s ticket. In Mowkaiaw, five powerful candidates are in the fray: Robinus Syngkon (BJP), Nehemayah Tyngkan (INC), E.C Boniface Bamon (NCP), Nujorki Sungoh (UDP), Gilbert Sten (NPP) and Heipormi Laloo (PDF).

Sutnga Saipung Assembly Constituency: In Sutnga Saipung assembly constituency there is a three-way battle between the BJP, Congress and some independent candidates. The sitting MLA of Sutnga Saipung assembly constituency is Hopeful Bamon (IND). In Sutnga Saipung, there are five powerful candidates in fray: Hambertus Nongtdu (BJP), Shitlang Pale (Congress), Skindro Dkhar (IND), Defender Pakem (HSPDP), Hopeful Bamon (NPP).