New Delhi, Nov 27: Indian Air Force‘s Surya Kiran Aerobatic Team will be conducting 9-Aircraft display at passing out parade at the National Defence Academy on upcoming Thursday. It will be the first time when prestigious force, also known as ‘The Sharks’, will be performing with its all Hawk MK 132 aircrafts. Earlier, the team has been performing with six aircrafts formation at the annual event.

Team Surya Kiran (Rays of the Sun), based at Bidar Air Force Station in Karnataka, was raised in 1996 with the Kiran MK-II aircraft. The unique formation will be a treat for the people attending the event.

The team initially began its operations with the Hawk MK 132 aircraft. It steadily grew from six to a nine-aircraft team this year. The team, led by Group Captain Ajit Kulkarni, has 14 pilots.

“The team represents the very best of what the IAF is, and that in turn is directly derived from the high standards and traditions set forth by the Marshal of the Air Force Arjan Singh. Teamwork, professionalism and confidence in each other’s abilities are the hallmark of the members. The team will strive to maintain the legacy of excellence and perfection set forth by him,” The Times of India quoted an officer as saying.