Kohima, Mar 8: Senior Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was sworn in as Nagaland Chief Minister on Wednesday. Along with Rio, 11 other ministers also took the oath. Governor PB Acharya administered the oath of office and secrecy to Rio and the 11 ministers at the main rostrum of the ground, in the presence of Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, BJP president Amit Shah and other union ministers and chief ministers. Also Read - 'Talash Gumshuda Jan Sevak Ki', Missing Posters of Jyotiraditya Scindia Emerge in Gwalior; Congress Man Held

The swearing-in ceremony, which was held at the Kohima Local Ground from where the announcement of Nagaland’s statehood on December 1, 1963, was made, is historic as the chief minister and council of ministers of a newly-elected government in Nagaland took oath in full public view for the first time. The swearing-in ceremonies in the state have so far been high-profile shows at the Darbar Hall of Raj Bhavan. Also Read - Madhya Pradesh Electricity Department Leaves Man Startled After Complaint, Says Remove BJP And Elect Congress For Cheaper Bill

Neiphiu Rio, who floated the NDPP just ahead of the Assembly elections in Nagaland, had forged a pre-poll alliance with the BJP. The NDPP-BJP alliance had won 30 seats (NDPP 18, BJP 12) in the February 27 Nagaland Assembly polls. Governor P B Acharya on Tuesday said he had received letters of support in Rio’s favour from 12 legislators of the BJP, one letter from the JD(U) and another from an Independent MLA, besides the 18 legislatures of the NDPP. Also Read - 'Mass Migration From Villages Occurred Under Congress': Mayawati Attacks Sonia Gandhi-Led Party