Live Updates

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal on Tuesday returned as Delhi Chief Minister for a third term with a thumping win over his nearest competitor, the BJP’s Sunil Yadav, from the New Delhi constituency.

The AAP chief won by a margin of nearly 20,000 votes.

Earlier, counting of votes for the Delhi Assembly Election 2020 began at 8 AM on Tuesday at counting centres across the national capital. The New Delhi constituency had emerged as the most important seat in this election with CM and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Kejriwal contesting from here. (Full Delhi Assembly Election 2020 coverage)

Notably, all the exit polls had forecast a comprehensive majority win for the AAP. (Follow this link for Zee News live streaming; counting of votes can also be followed on the Election Commission website.)

Romesh Sabbharwal was the Congress candidate against the CM.

Kejriwal, in fact, is already a two-time MLA from New Delhi, having won this seat in both the 2015 and 2013 Assembly polls in the national capital. In 2013, in fact, he had defeated his predecessor and then-CM, the late Sheila Dikshit, from this constituency, while in 2015, he came out victorious against the BJP’s Nupur Sharma and Congress veteran Kiran Walia.

The seat, however, witnessed one of the lowest turnouts in the single-phase Assembly Election, which was held on Saturday.

The AAP currently has 67 seats in the 70-seat Delhi Assembly, which it won in the previous Assembly Election here, in 2015. The BJP, which has the remaining three seats, had been tipped by the exit polls to improve its tally but by not enough margin to challenge the AAP.

The Congress, meanwhile, drew a blank, much like it did in 2015.