The newly-elected MLAs in Arunachal Pradesh took oath as members of the Seventh Legislative Assembly on Monday.Also Read - Arunachal Pradesh MLAs Constitute Forum to Curb Indo-China Border Residents' Migration

Pro-Tem Speaker Phosum Khimhun administered the oath to the newly elected legislators on the first day of the two-day session which began on Monday. Also Read - Earthquake of Magnitude 4.4 Hits Changlang in Arunachal Pradesh

Chief Minister Pema Khandu was the first to take oath followed by Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein and the cabinet ministers. Also Read - Arunachal Frontline Warriors Trek Nine Hours to Vaccinate 16 Grazers at 14,000 Feet

Senior Congress leader and former chief minister Nabam Tuki was absent during the oath-taking ceremony.

Meanwhile, BJP MLA Passang Dorjee Sona filed his nomination for the post of Speaker of the Assembly, while BJP member Tesam Pongte filed his papers for the post of Deputy Speaker.

The election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker would be held on Tuesday, Assembly sources informed.

The BJP led by Khandu won 41 seats in the 60-member Assembly, in the elections held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections on April 11 in the northeastern state bordering China.

The Janata Dal (United) won seven seats, National People’s Party five, Congress four, People’s Party of Arunachal one and Independents got two seats.