New Delhi: Days after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) suffered humiliating defeat in recently concluded Assembly elections in three Hindi heartland states, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, in a cryptic remark asserted that ‘leadership’ should own up to ‘defeat and failures’. Gadkari, who is known for speaking his mind, claimed that nobody is willing to own up to failure unlike success. Also Read - West Bengal Election 2021: BJP Likely to Release First List of Candidates With 60 Names Soon

“Success has many fathers but failure is an orphan, as when there is success, there will be a race to take credit but in case of failure, everybody will start pointing fingers at each other,” the Road Transport and Highways Minister said. Also Read - West Bengal Assembly Election 2021: Suvendu to Get Ticket From Nandigram? BJP to Finalise List of 60 Names Today

Furthermore he added,”Some times, banks achieve success and sometime they will have to face failure… The banks have to face both the situations… In politics, when there is a failure, a committee is formed but in case of success, nobody comes and asks you.” Also Read - Code of Conduct: EC Asks Petrol Pumps to Remove Hoardings With PM Modi's Photos Within 72 Hours

“Leadership should have the ‘vrutti’ (tendency) to own up the defeat and failures. Loyalty of the leadership towards the organisation will not be proved till the time it owns up responsibility for defeat. In politics, after a defeat in any state or Lok Sabha elections, the defeated candidates start cribbing and complain that they did not get adequate support”, the senior BJP leader said.

Notably the BJP stalwart made the remarks while speaking at an event organised by the Pune District Urban Cooperative Banks Association Limited (PDUCBAL).

Earlier this month, the BJP ceded power to the Congress in the recently-concluded assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. In the wake of the defeat, BJP leaders and Union ministers had said that the poll outcome was not a referendum on the performance of the Narendra Modi government at the Centre.