New Delhi: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his secretaries reportedly underwent COVID-19 test after they attended an event where a BJP leader who was found infected with the deadly virus was also present.Also Read - After Kerala, Another Southern State Witnesses Steep Spike In Covid Cases

Earlier in the day, Bihar Legislative Council’s chairperson Awadhesh Narayan Singh, his wife and their son had tested positive for the highly contagious coronavirus. Also Read - Bihar Crime News: Ex-Mayor of Kathihar Shot Dead by Gunmen; Border Sealed, Search on For Accused

On July 1, nine newly-elected members of the state legislative council in Bihar were administered the oath of office by Singh. The swearing-in took place in the presence of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi, both of whom are members of the Upper House. Also Read - West Bengal Lockdown: Cinema Halls Allowed To Reopen With 50% Capacity From Saturday | Details Here

Apart from CM and Deputy CM, other leaders who had attended the event include– Bihar assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Choudhary; Ministers Shravan Kumar, Mangal Pandey and Vinod Narayan Jha, BJP whip in Bihar Legislative Council Reena Yadav and MLAs Abdul Bari Siddiqui and Bhola Yadav, among others.

Coronavirus in Bihar

While the COVID-19 death toll has climbed to 84 in Bihar, 197 fresh cases have pushed the state’s tally to 11,111. To combat the spread of COVID-19, the Bihar government has decided to impose a fine of Rs 50 on people found not wearing face masks at offices and public places.

A notification issued by the state health department to this effect on July 3, under the ‘Bihar Epidemic Diseases COVID-19 Regulation 2020’, also said that people flouting the norm would be given two masks free of cost to motivate them to wear face covers.

“Wearing a face mask or face cover has been made compulsory (for people at public places or in offices) and Rs 50 will be imposed as fine for violating the regulation,” Anupam Kumar, the secretary of the Information and Public Relations Department, said.

The penalty will be imposed under IPC Section 188 (disobedience to an order duly promulgated by a public servant), the notification said, adding that respective district magistrates have been entrusted with the job of ensuring proper implementation of the order.