New Delhi, July 20: Ahead of the no-confidence motion against the Modi government moved by the opposition, the Congress party on Friday questioned the debate time of 38 minutes allotted to them against the BJP’s 3.5 hours saying that the no-trust motion cannot be treated like a question hour and every party should have been given 30 minutes. Click here for live news updates from no-confidence motion debate.Also Read - BJP-JDU Alliance May Break In Bihar; JDU-RJD Can Form Government: Reports

Speaking to news agency ANI, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said, “Is this time sufficient for us to highlight issues of 130 crore Indians & faults of this govt? Each party should get 30 minutes, but 38 minutes have been allotted to the largest opposition party. No-confidence motion can’t be treated like question hour.” Also Read - Why Did Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu Get Teary-Eyed In Rajya Sabha?

The no-confidence motion debate is expected to begin at 11 AM and continue for seven hours. The time, according to the reports, has been allotted to each party based on their strength in the House. The NDA has 312 members in Parliament, well above the half-way mark of 535-member Lok Sabha. Also Read - Priyanka Gandhi Dragged Into Police Van As Congress Leaders Detained During Protest Against Price Rise, Unemployment

While ruling BJP, which enjoys a majority in the House, has been allotted 3.5 hours, the Congress party has been given 38 minutes. The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which moved the motion, has been allotted just 13 minutes of the debate.

The AIADMK has 29 minutes, TMC, 27 minutes, BJD, 15, Shiv Sena, 14, TDP, 13 and TRS would get 9 minutes. While CPI(M) will get 7 minutes, SP will get 6 minutes, NCP, 6 minutes, and the LJSP, 5 minutes. The debate is scheduled for seven hours, without a lunch break.

Taking a dig at the Congress president Rahul Gandhi for his remarks that if he spoke there would be an earthquake in parliament, BJP national secretary Ram Madhav tweeted: “13 minuted for the mover of the motion and 38 minutes for earthquake.”

Meanwhile, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has decided to stage a walkout from the no-confidence motion. Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena has decided to refrain from voting, CNN News18 reported.

Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Ananth Kumar on Tuesday said that the government has majority in the Lok Sabha and it is ready to face the opposition’s no-confidence motion.