New Delhi, July 20: As the Modi government is set to witness the first no-confidence motion in four years in the ongoing Monsoon Session of Parliament, the disgruntled ally of the ruling party, Shiv Sena has decided to not attend the Lok Sabha on Friday. “We are boycotting parliamentary work today and haven’t even signed our attendance,” said Anandrao Adsul, Lok Sabha MP from Shiv Sena. Also Read - PM Dials Chief Ministers Of 4 States To Discuss Covid Situation In Their States. Read Details

Earlier in the day, it was reported that during the Parliamentary party meeting, which was held ahead of no-confidence motion debate, the Shiv Sena had decided to abstain from voting.  The meeting was attended by Amit Desai, Arvind Sawant, Anant Geete and other MPs. Also Read - Aditya Chopra Pledges To Vaccinate 30,000 Daily Cine Workers, Seeks Maha CM's Help

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami had also hinted that AIADMK may not back the no-confidence motion while the BJD and the TRS have not made their stand clear yet. The AIADMK has 37 MPs and the ruling BJD in Odisha has 19 MPs. (Haven’t Decided on Supporting Modi Govt During no-confidence Vote: Shiv Sena)

The debate is scheduled to begin at 11 AM and may last for seven hours followed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s reply, which is expected at around 6 pm.

Earlier on Friday, PM Modi had hoped that MPs will rise to the occasion and ensure a constructive debate. “Today is an important day in our parliamentary democracy. I am sure my fellow MP colleagues will rise to the occasion and ensure a constructive, comprehensive and disruption-free debate. We owe this to the people and the makers of our Constitution. India will be watching us closely,” Modi said ahead of the no trust vote in the House.

The opposition-sponsored move came during the opening day of the monsoon session. The government has expressed confidence of defeating the motion.

Notably, to defeat the no-confidence motion, the ruling BJP would require to gain a mark of 268 votes. The party is hopeful that regional parties like AIADMK, Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) – which has 37, 19 and 11 members- will either support it or abstain from voting. The NDA at present counts 312 members in the 535-member Lok Sabha, including 274 of the BJP.