Lucknow, May 31: Samajwadi Party (SP) won Noorpur by-election in Uttar Pradesh, beating the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). SP candidate Naim Ul-Hasan defeated BJP’s Avnish Singh by 6211 votes. He received 94631 votes, whereas the BJP candidate got 88420. Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

Hasan began leading right from the word go during the counting of the postal ballots and has since been increasing the margin against Singh, the widow of the Bharatiya Janata Party legislator Lokendra Pratap Singh. Also Read - Thai Woman Dies of Covid in Lucknow, Police Live-stream Funeral For Kin as SP, BJP Spar

The SP candidate is supported by the entire opposition, including Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Rashtriya Lok Dal, Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party. It was Lokendra Pratap Singh’s death in a road accident in February that had necessitated the bye-elections held on Monday, which saw a 61 per cent voter turnout. Also Read - Will Himanta Sarma Outplay Sonowal to Become Assam CM? Crucial Decision Today