Bhubaneswar: Counting of votes for Koraput, Pottangi, Malkangiri and Chitrakonda seats of Odisha Assembly have begun. Early trends are expected to be out by 10 AM. Polling for Odisha Assembly elections was held in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29, alongside Lok Sabha elections (

Naveen Patnaik of the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has been running the state since March 2000. In 2014, BJD had won 117 of 147 seats while BJP got 10 and Congress 16. Here’s a look at Koraput, Pottangi, Malkangiri, Chitrakonda seats:

Koraput: BJD’s Raghu Ram Padal has won this constituency. He was up against Congress’ Krushna Kuldip, BJP’s Tripurary Gorada, BSP’s Bhagirathi Patnia, SUCI(C)’s Rama Barik, Forward Bloc’s Dhanurjaya Hantal and Independent candidates Khagapati Khosla and Naba Kishore Bagh.

Pottangi: BJD ‘s Pitam Padhi won this constituency following a tough competition by the likes of Congress candidate Rama Chandra Kadam, BJP’s Rama Chandra Pangi, BSP’s Muralidhara Guntha and Independent candidates Krushna Chandra Jani and Nandibali Chaitanya.

Malkangiri: This year, it was BJD candidate Mukunda Sodi, who sealed the seat in this constituency. He was pitted against Congress candidate NC Mala Madhi, BJP’s Aditya Madhi, BSP’s Jara Sabar Madhi, HND’s Bijay Kumar Nayak and Independent candidates Parbati Nayak and Udaya Narayan Buruda.

Chitrakonda:  BJD’s Purna Chandra Baka won this contituency by a fine margin of over 2545 votes. He was up against Congress’ Laxmipriya Nayak, BJP’s Padu Majhi, SKD’s Ghenu Muduli, BSP’s Sanatana Kawasi and Independent candidate Balaraju Kope.