Bhubaneswar: The Biju Janata Dal’s (BJD) Savitri Agarwalla defeated the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Bijoy Mohapatra by 17,655 Votes in Patkura Assembly Bypolls today.Also Read - Bypoll Results 2022: TMC Sweeps Bengal As Babul Supriyo Wins Ballygunge, Shatrughan Takes Over Asansol

Arrangements for counting were made at the Kendrapara Autonomous College where the strong room is situated that is guarded by Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF), mobile patrol team and district police. Also Read - EC Announces Bypoll Date For West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Maharashtra | Check Details Here

Kendrapara district Collector Samarth Verma told PTI that a total of 18 counters have been set up for the counting of votes. Also Read - Bypoll Results 2021: NDA Sweeps Northeast, TMC Wins All Seats in Bengal; Congress Dominates Rajasthan

On July 20, the polling was held after being postponed twice in the last few months.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s bete noire, Bijoy Mohapatra of the BJP is locked in a fight with BJD nominee Sabitri Agarwal, the widow of Bed Prakash Agarwal, in the seat.

Earlier, the polling in Patkura Assembly seat was scheduled on April 29, but could not take place because of the death of BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwal on April 20.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) then fixed May 19 as the new date for the polls but it was further postponed due to Cyclone Fani which hit the state on May 3.

As per information, a three-tier security system has been put in place and counting of votes of 309 booths will be held in as many as 17 rounds.