New Delhi, June 29: Janata Dal Secular JD(S) chief HD Deve Gowda on Thursday said that the opposition may have come together for the swearing-in ceremony of the present Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy but they might not contest together in all the states in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Also Read - Mamata's Nephew Abhishek Banerjee Sends Legal Notice to BJP's Suvendu Adhikari

Gowda said,”It is not necessary that the parties — which attended the swearing-in ceremony of Kumaraswamy as Karnataka CM — will fight together in all states.” Also Read - BJP Demands Deployment of Central Forces in West Bengal Ahead of Crucial Assembly Polls

Having said that, Gowda said he was rather in favour of the formation of a third front to tackle the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as PM Modi too had signalled his party members to be ready for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls from the November itself. “Going by the signal they are giving to states, there is a greater possibility of early polls,” he said. Also Read - Rajasthan Congress MLA Gajendra Singh Shaktawat Dies at 48

Gowda said that both Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are in talks of sharing 40 seats each in general elections in Uttar Pradesh. While in Karnataka, he said that his party will fight with Congress despite having issues with them. Gowda also said that the sharing of seats for 2019 Lok Sabha polls has not yet been decided. Rumours are although rife that Congress will fight from 18 seats and the JD(S) will get the rest 10 seats in Karnataka.

He added,”So far, there has not been any discussion on this issue… Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and Kumarswamy will discuss and finalise that.” He further said JD(S) was ready to give away one Parliamentary seat in Karnataka to its ally BSP. “In return, I will ask BSP to give one seat in Uttar Pradesh to Danish Ali (who is JD-S Secretary General). In Kerala, LDF will give one seat to us,” he said. The JD (S) supremo said he will be meeting non-NDA leaders in the days to come.

Top leaders of the opposition- Congress, TMC, BSP, AAP, CPI (M) and TDP had earlier come out in support of HD Kumaraswamy and attended his swearing-in ceremony last month in Bengaluru.