New Delhi: Congress on Tuesday congratulated the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) after trends indicated that the latter will retain power in Delhi for the next fives years as well, admitting, however, that its own defeat ‘will not send a good message.’ (Full Delhi Assembly Election 2020 coverage) Also Read - Rithala Assembly Election Results 2020: AAP's Mohinder Goyal Retains Seat Against BJP's Manish Chaudhary

Notably, counting of votes for the 2020 Delhi Assembly Election is taking place today. Congress, which drew a blank in 2015, is struggling to get off the mark this time as well, just like the exit polls projected. Also Read - Badli Assembly Election Result 2020: AAP's Ajesh Yadav Wins Against BJP, Congress

Speaking to news agency ANI, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Congress’ leader in the Lok Sabha, said, “Everyone knew that the AAP will return to power for the third time. Our defeat will not send a good message.” Also Read - Timarpur Assembly Election Result 2020: Former AAP Convener For Delhi, Dilip Pandey Wins Against BJP's Surendra Bittu

He, however, added that the AAP’s victory against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ‘communal agenda’ was ‘significant.’

Congress has come under severe criticism for its non-performance in these Assembly polls. In the wake of the exit polls, several of its leaders made remarks which were perceived as the party having ‘surrendered’ completely to the AAP in the national capital.

In December 2013, Congress gave outside support to AAP, thus helping it form government in Delhi. The government, however, collapsed 49 days later, in February 2014, with Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal resigning on the floor of the Delhi Assembly.

In the next Assembly polls, held nearly a year after the collapse of the AAP-Congress government, the former stormed back to power, winning 67 seats in the 70-seat Delhi Assembly. The remaining three seats were won by the BJP.