New Delhi: The Government on Wednesday said over 6.84 lakh posts were lying vacant in different departments under it. In a written reply, Minister of State for Personnel Jitendra Singh said that of the total sanctioned strength of 38.02 lakh, 31.18 lakh were filled as on March 1, 2018, leaving 6.84 lakh posts vacant. (Also read: Delhi Approves 10% Quota For General Category in Govt Jobs) Also Read - Kashmir's So-Called Politicians Sometimes Tend To Be More Dangerous: Jitendra Singh

By way of explanation, he said, “Vacancies in central government are caused due to retirement, death, promotion, et cetera and the posts falling vacant are required to be filled as per recruitment rules by ministries, departments or organisations concerned.” Also Read - 'We Need Jobs': Twitterati Marks PM Modi's Birthday As 'National Unemployment Day', Here's Why

The filling up of vacant posts is a continuous process depending on the vacancies arising across ministries or departments during the year and the action calendar of the recruiting agency, Singh said. Also Read - Last Date to Submit Life Certificates by Pensioners Now December 31

In another reply, he said the Staff Selection Commission had planned to conduct examinations to fill up the 1,03,266 vacancies reported by various ministries during the years 2019 and 2020.

The Railway Board has notified five centralised employment notifications in 2018-19 for new and future vacancies likely to arise in two years, covering 1,56,138 vacancies, the minister said.

Earlier this month, Prime Minister Narendra Modi reportedly constituted two high-powered committees to rein in the slowdown of the economy, investment and loss of jobs in the market.

The five-member Cabinet Committee on Investment and Growth also has Home Minister Amit Shah, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Road Transport and Highways and MSME Minister Nitin Gadkari and Railway Minister Piyush Goyal.

Another 10-member Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development has been formed with Shah, Sitharaman, Goyal, Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Narendra Singh Tomar, Human Resource Development Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’, Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Minister Skill and Entrepreneurship Mahendra Nath Pandey and Ministers of State Santosh Kumar Gangwar (Labour) and Hardeep Singh Puri (Housing and Urban Affairs).