New Delhi, Jan 25: The government on Thursday announced the list of Padma Awards winners. The list of Padma Vibhushan awardees include the names of music director Isaignani Ilaiyaraja and RSS ideologue Parameswaran Parameswaran. (MS Dhoni, Pankaj Advani Get Padma Bhushan; Complete List) Also Read - TT Player Mouma Das, Six Other Sportspersons Awarded Padma Shri

“The Padma Vibhushan award conferred upon me is an indication of PM Modi led government’s respect to Tamil people and Tamil Nadu,” Ilaiyaraaja said after the announcement. Also Read - Shinzo Abe, SP Balasubramaniam Among 119 Recipients of Padma Awards | Check Full List

President Ram Nath Kovind will award the Padma awards this Republic Day. (Padma Awards 2017 Announced: Full List of Recipients) Also Read - Coronavirus: Centre Postpones Padma Awards, Will Announce New Date in Due Course

Here is the list of Padma Vibhushan awardees:

Ilayaraja – Art (Music)
Ghulam Mustafa Khan – Art (Music)
Parameswaran Parameswaran – Literature & Education

The awards — Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri — are announced on the eve of the Republic Day every year.

More than 15,700 people applied for the prestigious awards for 2018, with the government laying stress on honouring the unsung heroes.