New Delhi: The results of Palghar Municipal Council Election 2019 will be declared on Monday. Counting of votes is underway. The outcome of the polls is being keenly watched by the BJP-Sena alliance as the election was considered a litmus test for both the coalition partners ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Also Read - Bihar Assembly Election 2020 LIVE News And Updates: Don't Lie to Biharis, Rahul Attacks PM Modi; Tejashwi Promises 10 Lakh Govt Jobs in First Cabinet Meet

While the Sena contested on 18 seats, the BJP fielded candidates for eight seats. Two seats have been won unopposed by the alliance. Several Sena leaders who were denied tickets contested as independent candidates. Also Read - BJP’s ‘Free Vaccine’ Promise For Bihar in Its Poll Manifesto Draws Opposition Fire | All You Need to Know

Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and Youth Sena President Aaditya Thackeray had jointly campaigned for the candidates. Addressing a gathering, Thackeray had said,”This is perhaps the first time that a chief minister is campaigning for Palghar civic polls.” Also Read - 19 Lakh Jobs, Free Coronavirus Vaccine: BJP Releases Manifesto For Bihar Assembly Election 2020

The Palghar Municipal Council went to polls on Sunday. People caste their votes from 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM and no untoward incident was reported.