New Delhi: Two days after the assembly election results in which Congress registered a landslide victory in three Hindi heartland states, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi kept a distance from each other at a function in Parliament on Thursday.Also Read - Kerala: LDF Wins 24 Of 42 Seats In Local Body By-Polls, UDF Bags 12

Both leaders did not speak to themselves. They were in Parliament for an event to pay tribute to the martyrs of the 2001 Parliament attack. Also Read - Cannes 2022: PM Modi Hails India as Country of Honour, Says 'Cinema Showcases Human Emotions'

Modi was seen exchanging greetings with his predecessor and Congress leader Manmohan Singh. Union minister Vijay Goel and Minister of State for Social Justice Minister Ramdas Athawale shook hands with the Congress president. Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, BJP veteran L K Advani, and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi were among the others present at the event. Also Read - Upset With Gujarat Party Leadership, Hardik Patel Quits Congress, May Join BJP

They showered petals on portraits of the martyrs killed in the attack 17 years ago on this day. On December 13, 2001, five heavily armed gunmen stormed the Parliament complex and opened fire. Five Delhi police personnel, a woman constable of the Central Reserve Police Force, two members of the Parliament Watch and Ward Staff, a gardener and a cameraman lost their lives in the attack.

The results of Assembly elections in the Hindi heartland are a major electoral setback for the BJP, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah. The Congress won the elections in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh, all ruled by the BJP. The votes were counted on Tuesday.

The Congress secured 114 seats in the recently concluded elections in Madhya Pradesh, falling two short of the majority in the 230-seat Assembly. However, help came in the form of both BSP and SP extending support. The two have 2 and 1 seat respectively in the Assembly.

In Rajasthan, the Congress secured 99 seats, falling one short of the majority. Here, RLD, with its 1 MLA has extended support and so has Mayawati’s BSP.