New Delhi: Rajya Sabha on Monday re-elected Janata Dal (United) parliamentarian Harivansh Narayan Singh as the Deputy Chairman of the Upper House by voice vote. Harivansh was contesting against RJD member Manoj Jha on the first day of the Parliament’s Monsoon Session. Also Read - Parliament Adjourns Sine Die, Monsoon Session Cut Short by Eight Days Over Coronavirus Concerns

Harivansh’s name was proposed by BJP president and party MP Jagat Prakash Nadda. Leader of the House Thavarchand Gehlot seconded it. MPs from various political parties, as well as Prime Minister Narendra Modi, congratulated Harivansh. Also Read - Rs 517 Crore Spent On PM Modi’s Foreign Visits to 58 Countries Since 2015: Govt Tells Rajya Sabha

“The respect I hold for Harivansh Ji, each member of the House shares. He has earned this respect. His unbiased role in the Parliament strengthens our democracy,” PM Modi said. Also Read - 16 Countries Provide Visa-Free Entry to Indian Passport Holders: Govt Tells Rajya Sabha

“After becoming an MP, Harivanshi Ji has always ensured how all MPs can become more dutiful. The journalist inside him has stayed alive,” the prime minister said.

Accepting his re-election, Harivansh said, “I am grateful to all of you that you considered fit to give this important responsibility to a person who hails from a very ordinary family based in a village and who never went to an English-medium school.”

“There are instances in life when words leave us… It is my honour of having been born in JP’s village,” he added, thanking PM Modi and Bihar CM Nitish Kumar for their support.

In 2018, Harivansh had defeated Congress’ BK Hariprasad in the election to the post.

The election was necessitated as Harivansh completed his term as a member of Rajya Sabha this year.