New Delhi, Mar 16: The Congress party, the AIADMK, the CPM and the AIMIM have agreed to support the no-confidence motion against the BJP government, which was proposed by the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) over denial of special status to Andhra Pradesh. The motion was supported by the YSR Congress, but needed support of other opposition parties.Also Read - TDP, YSR Congress Team up Against Modi Govt, Ask MPs to Ensure No-confidence Motion is Tabled in Parliament

The motion needed the support of 50 members of Parliament in Lok Sabha. The TDP and YSR Congress had 25 MPs– they needed another 25, which were provided by the Congress party. The Congress has 48 MPs in the Lok Sabha, the AIADMK has 37, the CPM has nine MPs each, and the AIMIM has one MP.This will be the first no-confidence motion against the Modi government. Also Read - No-confidence Motion Against Modi Govt: Chandrababu Naidu Asks TDP MPs to Continue 'Fight Against Injustice'

The TDP pulled out of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Friday over its demand of special status to Andhra Pradesh. The had already withdrawn its ministers from the Union Cabinet on March 8.

Meanwhile, the BJP has hit back, saying they were trying to regain lost ground.

“We believe TDP is finding the going tough in Andhra Pradesh. They are seeing a defeat for themselves in 2019 and they want to use this as an alibi to really retrieve lost political ground,” BJP leader GVL Narasimha Rao said.

“Questions are being asked in Andhra Pradesh as to why the CM took 4 yrs to realise that this is not working,” he added.

Live Updates

  • 10:39 PM IST

    In a major setback to the BJP, the TDP on Friday quit the NDA and tabled a no-confidence motion against the Modi government over its refusal to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh. Shiv Sena – an NDA constituent and oldest ally of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) – remained non-committal on the TDP proposed no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government in the Lok Sabha.

  • 3:37 PM IST

    Rajya Sabha adjourned till Monday.

  • 3:37 PM IST
    There can be no govt more sensitive to the demands and the needs of the people of Andhra Pradesh than the present govt under PM Modi, Union Minister Piyush Goyal says in Rajya Sabha.
  • 2:50 PM IST

    It is not about pulling down the government, intention is to discuss in Parliament the injustice meted to Andhra Pradesh. Jana Sena was the party that initiated it (idea of no-confidence motion) and later due to public pressure YSRCP and TDP were forced to do it: Pawan Kalyan, Jana Sena Party

  • 12:28 PM IST

    Parliament Updates: Congress leader Renuka Chowdhury said that her party’s commitment to Andhra Pradesh still continues. “Our commitment to people of AP continues and this govt has no business to take away that right of ours. It is only right that we fight collectively, it is the principle we are fighting on. Centre has exposed itself and that it does not stand by any ally,” she said.

  • 12:11 PM IST

    Parliament Updates: JDU’s KC Tyagi says that TDP’s withdrawal from the NDA is unfortunate.

    “In a big alliance, small difference of opinions happen. There is no danger to the NDA government. But, TDP withdrawing from NDA is unfortunate,” he said.
  • 12:02 PM IST

    The State government and the TDP are feeling the pinch of the public opinion going against them and the BJP will use this as an opportunity to grow as a political party and emerge as a dominant political force in Andhra Pradesh. For us it will prove to be the next Tripura: GVL Narasimha Rao, BJP