New Delhi, July 20: Maintaining suspense over their decision to support the Modi government against the Opposition’s no-confidence motion, the Shiv Sena on Thursday asked the party MPs to remain in Delhi but said that there was no whip issued to vote one way or another. “There was no whip issued to vote one way or another. Notice has been given to be present in Parliament. Party chief Uddhav Thackeray will take the final decision,” Shiv Sena leader Chandrakant Khaire told ANI. Also Read - Centre Faces Tough Question as Pressure Mounts to Impose Full Lockdown in India to Beat COVID Surge

Echoing similar sentiments, another party MP Arvind Sawant said, “Shiv Sena will work on directions of Uddhav Thackeray Ji. No-confidence motion hasn’t been moved by Shiv Sena, we will see what we have to do tomorrow.” He further said that the party has been asked to be present in the Lok Sabha during the no-confidence motion but the final decision rests with chief Uddhav Thackeray. The party has, however, issued a whip for its members to be present in Parliament today. Also Read - Impose Complete Lockdown in India: Traders' Body Urges PM Modi Amid COVID Surge

“There is a culture in Shiv Sena that whatever will be our party chief’s decision, will follow that. He has not directed anything to us so far. Whatever will be the decision by the party, will get to know tomorrow. We will be surely present in the Lok Sabha tomorrow,” Shiv Sena MP Anandrao Adsul said. Also Read - Kangana Ranaut Reacts After Twitter Suspends Her Account Over Her Tweet on Bengal Elections

Earlier on Thursday, Shiv Sena had said that it would vote against Opposition’s no-confidence motion moved against the Modi government after a conversation with BJP chief Amit Shah. The debate is expected to begin at 11 AM and would go on without a lunch break for seven hours. Based on the strength of a party in the House, the BJP will get 3 hours 33 minutes, Congress, 38 minutes, AIADMK, 29 minutes, TMC, 27 minutes, BJD, 15, Shiv Sena, 14, TDP, 13 and TRS would get 9 minutes. While CPI(M) will get 7 minutes, SP will get 6 minutes, NCP, 6 minutes, and the LJSP, 5 minutes.

Notices for the no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government could not be taken up in the Lok Sabha on Thursday due to disruptions by several parties. Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Ananth Kumar on Tuesday said that the government has majority in the Lok Sabha and it is ready to face the opposition’s no-confidence motion.