New Delhi, Mar 4: Former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Farooq Abdullah has sparked another row by saying that Muhammad Ali Jinnah did not want to divide India and create a separate nation for Muslims. He blamed top political leaders of the independence time including Jawaharlal Nehru, Maulana Azad and Sardar Patel for the partition and said that they never accepted minority status for Muslims and Sikhs in the country.

Abdullah was speaking at an event in Kashmir on Saturday where he mentioned that Jinnah never favoured partition. He said, “Jinnah was not going to divide the country. The commission was delivered and the decision was taken that India would be divided. It said we will keep a special representation for Muslims. We will keep special dispensation for minorities and Sikh, but will not let the nation divide.”

He continued to allege that the Indian politicians did not want a minority commission for the Muslims and the Sikhs, which in turn led to the demand of Pakistan by Jinnah.

He said, “Jinnah agreed but Jawaharlal Nehru, Maulana Azad and Sardar Patel did not agree. When this did not happen, it was then that Jinnah demanded for Pakistan. Or else there would have been no separation. There would have been no Bangladesh, no Pakistan; there would have been one India.”

This is not for the first time National Conference President Farooq Abdullah had shown his love for Pakistan. Last year, in November he had said that Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) belongs to Pakistan and “this won’t change” no matter how many wars India and Pakistan fight with each other.

Abdullah also said that the talk of an independent Kashmir is “wrong” as the Valley is surrounded by three nuclear powers – India, China, and Pakistan.

The daily ceasefire violations have deteriorated already fragile ties between India and Pakistan. Both countries accuse each other of having committed a record number of ceasefire violations in 2017. The delay in approving membership of Indian high commissioner is the latest in a series of hostilities Indian diplomats in Pakistan.

(Inputs from PTI)