Live Updates

  • 4:10 PM IST

    Patel Nagar Assembly Election 2020 Result Live Updates: AAP’s Raaj Kumar Anand wins the seat with a margin of 30,935 votes beating BJP’s Pravesh Ratn.

  • 9:23 AM IST

    Patel Nagar Assembly Election 2020 Result Live Updates: As per the latest vote count for Patel Nagar, Raaj Kumar Anand from AAP is in the lead.

  • 9:23 AM IST

    Patel Nagar Assembly Election 2020 Result Live Updates: Counting is underway

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party’s Raaj Kumar Anand has defeated BJP’s Parvesh Ratn by a margin of 30,935 votes from the Patel Nagar Assembly constituency. Anand got 73,463 votes, Ratn got 42,528 votes, while veteran Congress leader Krishna Tirath got just 3,382 votes. 
Also Read - Sangam Vihar Assembly Election 2020: AAP Wins With Dinesh Mohaniya Securing 64.5% Votes

Counting of votes polled in the high-stakes Delhi Assembly election began on Tuesday morning amid tight security at various centres set up to carry out the exercise. Also Read - Karol Bagh Assembly Election 2020 Result: AAP's Vishesh Ravi Wins

One of the 70 Assembly constituencies in Delhi, Patel Nagar is also one among several constituencies that together make up the New Delhi Lok Sabha seat which is currently held by BJP leader Meenakshi Lekhi. Also Read - Ambedkar Nagar Assembly Election Result 2020: AAP's Ajay Dutt Wins With 62.25% vote Inches Closer to Win at a Comfortable Margin

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News

A Scheduled Caste (SC) constituency, its current MLA is Hazari Lal Chauhan of the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). However, for this year’s Assembly polls, the party fielded a new candidate in the form of Raaj Kumar Anand who was pitted against Pravesh Ratan of the BJP and former Union Minister Krishna Tirath of the Congress, who, incidentally contested the 2015 polls as a BJP candidate and lost to Hazari Lal Chauhan.

In 2013 too, the seat was won by an AAP candidate, Veena Anand. However, for three consecutive Assembly polls before that, i.e 1998, 2003 and 2008, the seat was won by the Congress. While Rama Kant Goswami won the seat in 1998 and 2003, Rajesh Lilothia won in 2008.

The BJP, meanwhile, has held this seat only once, with Mewa Ram Arya winning from here in 1993, in what was the very first Delhi Assembly Election. The Patel Nagar constituency has 1,71,077 voters in total out of whom 77,625 are females while two are transgender voters.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

For latest News and Live Updates on Election Results from each Assembly constituency in Delhi, visit our Assembly Elections page. You can also like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.