New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi started his second innings work just after the swearing-in ceremony and held talks with the President of the Kyrgyz Republic, Sooronbay Jeenbekov. Sooron Jeenbekov was among the invitees for the swearing-in ceremony of Modi government.Also Read - PM Kisan Samman Nidhi Yojana: Good News For Farmers, Govt to Disburse Pending Amount Along With Next Installment

Also Read - PM Modi, Mamata Banerjee, Adar Poonawalla on Time Magazine's 100 ‘Most Influential People of 2021

Jeenbekov arrived in Delhi on Thursday afternoon and was received by senior officials of Ministry of External Affairs (MEA). Also Read - PM Kisan Samman Nidhi Yojana: Farmers to Get Rs 4000 Soon, Register Yourself Before Sept 30

Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) leaders along with Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena were also present at the swearing-in ceremony.

In 2014, when Narendra Modi became the Prime Minister of India for the first time, SAARC  leaders were invited for the swearing-in ceremony.

But after the Pulwama attack and Balakot strike, the relationship between India and Pakistan has soured and an invitation to the SAARC nations for the swearing-in was not possible.

The failure of SAARC, due to the India-Pakistan rivalry, forced the Modi government to look at the BIMSTEC as an alternative.