Johannesburg, Jul 27: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday met Chinese President Xi Jinping Johannesburg to discuss furthering the friendship between India and China.

Modi, who is here to attend the 10th BRICS Summit, met Xi for the third time in nearly four months.

The two leaders held a two-day informal summit in the Chinese city of Wuhan in late April and then they met on the sidelines of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Summit in Qingdao, China in June.

“Furthering India-China friendship. PM @narendramodi and President Xi Jinping hold talks on the sidelines of the BRICS Summit in South Africa,” the Prime Minister’s Office tweeted.

The two leaders are believed to have exchanged views on the international landscape, BRICS cooperation and other issues of mutual interest.

Briefing about the meeting, Foreign Secretary Vijay Gokhale said that both PM Modi and President Xi Jinping have reaffirmed once again their readiness to give the necessary direction to their militaries to enhance communications between them and to maintain peace and tranquillity in the border areas.

He also added that an important issue which PM Modi has raised with President Jinping at his previous meetings is how to enhance Indian exports to China, particularly agricultural exports. It has been decided that an Indian trade delegation will be travelling to China on August 1 and 2, he informed.

Earlier in the day, PM Modi, who arrived in Johannesburg on Wednesday to attend the BRICS Summit, said technological innovations can help to enhance better service delivery, productivity levels. “India wants to work collectively along with BRICS nations in the area of Fourth Industrial Revolution and all nations must share the best practices and policies on this,” he said.

The Prime Minister also underline the need for schools and universities to create the curriculum so that they can prepare the youth for the future.

BRICS is a grouping of five major emerging economies: Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. Originally the first four were grouped as “BRIC”, before the induction of South Africa in 2010.

(With agencies inputs)