New Delhi, October 2: In what can be deemed to be some very interesting political development, Prashant Bhushan and Yogendra Yadav have launched their brand new political party. The newly launched political party will be called ‘Swaraj Party’. What makes the development all the more interesting is the fact that both the politicians were expelled from the Aam Aadmi Party that is currently ruling Delhi. The erstwhile AAP members were accused of being involved in anti-party activities.

The announcement of the formation of the party was made early on . “We had announced that we would be forming the party by October 2, so we will be doing that tomorrow. We will also announce the name of the party,” a Swaraj Abhiyan leader had said earlier. The formation of the party began with the Swaraj Abhiyan, an organisation that was launched on 14 April 2015. (ALSO READ: Shahabuddin bail cancelled: RJD strongman goes to jail, Prashant Bhushan wants him shifted out of Bihar)

Supporters of Yogendra Yadav and Prashant Bhushan had met in Gurgaon early last year to unite after their respective expulsion from AAP and decided to launch the movement. The Swaraj Abhiyan organization claimed to want to transform ideology into reality and to achieve Swaraj in all aspects of life – political, economic, social and cultural.

It was at the end of July this year that Swaraj Abhiyan decided to form a political party. It was during the Swaraj Abhiyan national convention that Yogendra Yadav had announced the launching of the new political party by October 2 to provide an “alternative political vehicle”. Yadav had then said, “We were never secretive about going political. A decision to launch a political party was taken with nearly 93 percent of the delegates at the convention overwhelmingly supporting it.”

Yadav however, clarified that Swaraj Abhiyan will continue to exist even after the new political party is launched and the two will function independently. It is popularly assumed that the Swaraj Party will provide a direct competition to the Aam Aadmi Party due to the experiences of the party’s two main leader, Prashant Bhushan and Yogendra Yadav. There are unverified claims that the Swaraj Party could contest elections in five different states. Punjab, where the AAP is expending a lot of efforts is one of the states in which the Swaraj Party has it eyes set on. The Swaraj Party is also doing a lot of groundwork in the national capital which is essentially considered an Aam Aadmi Party stronghold.