New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Tamil Nadu Chief Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan has been appointed the Governor of Telangana on Sunday.

Notably, President Ram Nath Kovind today announced a list of five new Governors wherein he made four new appointments and one transfer for the posts of Governor in Maharashtra, Himachal, Pradesh, Kerala, Telangana, and Rajasthan.

While Soundararajan has been appointed the Governor of Telangana, former Union Ministers Bandaru Dattatreya and Kalraj Mishra have been given charge of Himachal Pradesh and Rajasthan. Dattatreya has replaced Mishra in Himachal and Mishra, who was the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, has succeeded Kalyan Singh.

Dattatreya expressed gratitude towards PM Modi and Home Minister Shah and said that he would work as per the Constitution. “I am thankful to PM Narendra Modi as well as Home Minister Amit Shah. They have given this responsibility to me as the Governor of Himachal Pradesh& I will work as per the Constitution,” news agency ANI quoted Dattatreya as saying.

Besides, former union minister Arif Mohammed Khan and senior BJP leader Bhagat Singh Koshyari have been put in charge of Kerala and Maharashtra respectively.

“It’s an opportunity to serve. Fortunate to be born in a country like India which is so vast&rich in diversity. It’s a great opportunity for me to know this part of India, which forms boundary of India&is called god’s own country,” Arif Mohd Khan told ANI.

The appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices, said an official communique from the President’s office.