New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday dissolved the 16th Lok Sabha with immediate effect on recommendation of the Union cabinet. Also Read - President Kovind Extends New Year Greetings, Hopes India Marches Ahead to Achieve Progress

(Catch Complete Coverage of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Here) Also Read - Five TMC MPs Sends Memorandum to President Kovind Seeking Immediate Removal of Bengal Governor

The President dissolved the Lok Sabha after a cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi made such a recommendation on Friday, a communique issued by the Rashtrapati Bhavan said. Also Read - In Pics: President Kovind, PM Modi, Others Pay Tribute to Bharat Ratna Atal Bihari Vajpayee On His Birth Anniversary

“The President has accepted the advice of the Cabinet on 24.05.2019 and signed the Order dissolving the 16th Lok Sabha,” it said.

Earlier in the day, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, along with two Election Commissioners – Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra, met the President and submitted the list of winners of Lok Sabha Elections to him.

On Friday, the President had accepted the resignation of PM Modi and his council of ministers but asked them to continue as caretaker until formation of a new government.

Modi is expected to take oath as a new prime minister next week. On Sunday, he will visit Gujarat to seek the blessings of his mother following his massive victory in the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. He will be in Varanasi, his constituency, on Monday.

Taking to his official Twitter handle, the PM said, “Will be going to Gujarat tomorrow evening, to seek blessings of my Mother. Day after tomorrow morning, I will be in Kashi to thank the people of this great land for reposing their faith in me.” On May 27, Modi will head to the Varanasi parliamentary seat. He retained the seat in the elections held this year by a margin of 4.79 lakh votes.

The new Lok Sabha has BJP members on 303 seats. Add the tally of its allies and the NDA has captured 353 of the 542 seats this time. The UPA, meanwhile, has a measly 92 seats with the Congress bagging just 52 seats.