New Delhi, July 17: The voting for electing the next President of India is all set to happen on Monday. Every elected legislator will exercise his/her franchise to choose the country’s President. For Presidential Election 2017, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has fielded former Governor of Bihar Ram Nath Kovind and the former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar has been named as the nominee by the Opposition. The voting will be held between 10:00 am and 5:00 pm. The results for the Presidential Election 2017 will be declared on July 20.Also Read - Meet Padma Shri Awardee Chhultim Chhonjor, a Selfless Hero Who Single-handedly Built A 38 Km Road

Kovind’s name was announced as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA’s candidate by BJP president Amit Shah on June 19. He had filed his nomination for the election on June 23. On the other hand, Kumar’s name was announced by the Opposition after a meeting held on the June 22. Also Read - President Ram Nath Kovind to Virtually Confer National Service Scheme Awards Today

Noteworthy, the President is elected by an electoral college consisting of the elected members of both houses of parliament, the elected members of the Legislative assemblies of the 29 states and the elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry. As of 2017, the electoral college comprises 776 MPs (Members of Parliament) and 4120 MLAs (Members of Legislative Assembly). The total strength of Electoral college is 10,98,903 votes. Members of Legislative Council (MLCs) will not participate in Presidential Election 2017. Also Read - COVID Not Over Yet, Lowering Guard Would be Unwise Now, Says President Kovind in His Address to Nation

The NDA candidate has the support of non-NDA parties like All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), Janata Dal- United (JD-U), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and independents.

On the other hand, the UPA candidate Meira Kumar has support of parties like Indian National Congress (INC), The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD), All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), Communist Party of India- Marxist (CPI-M), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), The Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Kerala Congress (M) (KC-M), The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), The Janata Dal (Secular) (JDS), Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), The All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM), Communist Party of India (CPI), Jammua and Kashmir National Conference (JKNC).

Paper ballots will be used in the presidential election and the votes will be valid only if the special violet ink pen is used to vote. The MPs will vote on Green ballots and the MLAs will vote on pink ballots. Ballot boxes from states will be flown and stored in Room 62 of the Parliament.

The term of President Pranab Mukherjee is expiring on July 25. In the last presidential election in 2012, Pranab Mukherjee had defeated P.A. Sangma and got over 69 per cent votes.

(With ANI inputs)

Live Updates