New Delhi, July 20: The counting of votes for the presidential election result 2017 will begin at 11 AM in the Parliament House. Polling for the presidential election was held on July 17. A total of 4,896 voters — 4,120 MLAs and 776 elected MPs — were eligible to cast their ballot. The major contest in between Ram Nath Kovind, a Dalit politician and BJP-led NDA’s candidate, and Congress-led opposition nominee Meira Kumar. While the counting will begin at 11 AM, the official announcement on the presidential election result will be made by 5 PM. Catch live updates on presidential election result hereAlso Read - Meet Padma Shri Awardee Chhultim Chhonjor, a Selfless Hero Who Single-handedly Built A 38 Km Road

In the presidential election, overall poll percentage was pegged at 99.41 per cent. Ballot boxes from 29 state capitals and the union territory of Puducherry have reached Parliament House amid tight security. Below is the glimpse of the procedure followed for the counting of votes in the presidential election: Also Read - PV Sindhu Awarded With Padma Bhushan; Bembem Devi, Rani Rampal Receives Padma Shri

  • First the ballot box of Parliament House will be opened for counting.
  • The ballot boxes received from states will be opened on alphabetical order for counting.
  • There will be eight rounds of counting, and announcements made after every round.
  • Lok Sabha Secretary General Anoop Mishra is the Returning Officer for the presidential election, who will announce the final result and issue the certificate to the winning candidate.
  • The Rashtrapati Bhavan will announce the final result by 5 PM.
  • The numbers are stacked in favour of the ruling coalition’s nominee Ram Nath Kovind over the opposition’s candidate Meira Kumar.

Incumbent Pranab Mukherjee’s term is ending on July 24 and the India’s 14th president will take oath the next day, i.e., July 25. Also Read - President Ram Nath Kovind to Virtually Confer National Service Scheme Awards Today