New Delhi, July 20: The counting of votes for the presidential election result will take place on Thursday. The counting of ballots cast during the July 17 presidential election will be taken up to decide the fate of two major contenders — the ruling NDA’s candidate Ram Nath Kovind and the combined Opposition nominee Meira Kumar. Ram Nath Kovind has a clear edge and is all set to become the next President of India. Incumbent Pranab Mukherjee’s term is ending on July 24 and the India’s 14th president will take oath the next day, i.e., July 25.Also Read - Meet Padma Shri Awardee Chhultim Chhonjor, a Selfless Hero Who Single-handedly Built A 38 Km Road

All ballot boxes have reached Parliament House amid tight security. Counting of ballot papers will begin at 11 AM at Room Number 62 on the first floor of the Parliament House. There will be eight rounds of counting, and announcements made after every round. The results for the race to the Rashtrapati Bhavan will be out officially by 5 PM. (ALSO READ: Different coloured ballot papers, special pens: Key facts about Presidential election 2017) Also Read - President Ram Nath Kovind to Virtually Confer National Service Scheme Awards Today

Polling to choose the successor to President Pranab Mukherjee was held simultaneously at 32 polling stations — one in Parliament House and one each in 29 state assemblies and two union territories with assemblies. In polling, several states registered 100 per cent voting. The overall poll percentage was 99.41 per cent. A total of 776 members of Parliament and 4,120 legislators were eligible to cast votes. (ALSO READ: How Will The Next President of India Be Elected? Party Wise Electoral Numbers, Facts And Votes in 2017) Also Read - COVID Not Over Yet, Lowering Guard Would be Unwise Now, Says President Kovind in His Address to Nation

In the electoral arithmetic, NDA’s Ram Nath Kovind has a distinct advantage over his rival Meira Kumar as parties like the Janata Dal-United and the Biju Janata Dal, otherwise not allied with the Bharatiya Janata Party, had decided to vote for him. The total value of votes of the presidential electoral college is 10,98,903, and the NDA candidate is slated to get over 63 per cent votes. In the last presidential election in 2012, Pranab Mukherjee had defeated P.A. Sangma and got over 69 per cent votes. If elected, Ram Nath Kovind will be the second Dalit President of India after KR Narayanan.