New Delhi: The Prime Minister on Thursday released a new series of coins that even the visually impaired would be able to use. These circulation coins would be in the denominations of Rs 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10 and Rs 20.

PM Narendra Modi released the coins at a function at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg, where visually impaired children were specially invited.

Releasing the series, the Prime Minister said that the Union Government was ‘guided by the vision of reaching the last mile and the last person’. He said the new series of coins was designed with that vision in mind.

The Prime Minister said that the new circulation coins will aid the visually impaired and will instill them with confidence to be able to do transactions on their own.

He said his Government had taken various initiatives for the welfare of the differently abled community. The Centre was keen to make every initiative Divyang friendly, he said.

The Prime Minister also took the opportunity to thank the National Institute of Design for the design, Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited and the Ministry of Finance for the introduction of new coins.

On their part, the invited children thanked the Prime Minister for introducing the new series of coins. They added that these coins will greatly ease their daily routine.

Meanwhile, the new coins are marked with various such features that will make it easy for the visually impaired to use them.

For instance, the coins increase in size and weight as per their denomination. The newly included coin of Rs 20 will be 12-sided with no serrations while the rest of the denominations would be round in shape.

Present at the event were Union Minister for Finance, Shri Arun Jaitley and Minister of State for Finance, Shri Pon Radhakrishnan as well.