New Delhi: As we move into the third month of the year 2020, we all are curious about the upcoming holidays we are going to get. Also Read - Bank Holidays in 2020 India: Here's The List of Days on Which Banks Will be Closed This Year

While there are some holidays we get for festivities and cultural practices, there are others which are fixed public holiday. This list of holidays can differ from one state to another depending on what festivals are prominent in the region. Also Read - Bank Holidays 2020: March Alert! Banks to be Closed For 18 Days in March; Check List

Here is a list of all the Public and Government holidays in India in 2020:

DayDateHoliday name Holiday type
Wednesday1. Jan. 2020New Year’s DayRestricted Holiday
Thursday2. Jan. 2020Guru Govind Singh’s BirthdayRestricted Holiday
Monday13. Jan. 2020LohriRestricted Holiday
Wednesday15. Jan. 2020Makar Sankranti / PongalRestricted Holiday
Sunday26. Jan. 2020Republic DayGazetted Holiday
Thursday30. Jan. 2020Basant Panchami/Sri PanchamiRestricted Holiday
Sunday9. Feb. 2020Guru Ravidas’s BirthdayRestricted Holiday
Tuesday18. Feb. 2020Swami Dayananda Saraswati JayantiRestricted Holiday
Wednesday19. Feb. 2020Shivaji JayantiRestricted Holiday
Friday21. Feb. 2020Maha ShivaratriRestricted Holiday
Monday9. Mar. 2020Holika Dahana / Hazarat Ali’s BirthdayRestricted Holiday
Tuesday10. Mar. 2020HoliGazetted Holiday
Wednesday25. Mar. 2020Chaitra Sukladi/Gudi Padava/Ugadi/Cheti ChandRestricted Holiday
Thursday2. Apr. 2020Ram NavamiGazetted Holiday
Monday6. Apr. 2020Mahavir JayantiGazetted Holiday
Friday10. Apr. 2020Good FridayGazetted Holiday
Sunday12. Apr. 2020Easter DayRestricted Holiday
Monday13. Apr. 2020Vaisakhi/VishuRestricted Holiday
Tuesday14. Apr. 2020Mesadi / Vaisakhadi(Bengal)/Bahag Bihu (Assam)Restricted Holiday
Thursday7. May. 2020Buddha PurnimaGazetted Holiday
Friday8. May. 2020Guru Rabindranath’s birthdayRestricted Holiday
Friday22. May. 2020Jamat Ul-VidaRestricted Holiday
Monday25. May. 2020Idu’l FitrGazetted Holiday
Tuesday30. Jun. 2020Rath YatraRestricted Holiday
Saturday1. Aug. 2020Id-ul-Zuha(Bakrid)Gazetted Holiday
Monday3. Aug. 2020Raksha Bandhan(Rakhi)Restricted Holiday
Tuesday11. Aug. 2020Janmashtami (Smarta)Restricted Holiday
Wednesday12. Aug. 2020JanmashtamiGazetted Holiday
Saturday15. Aug. 2020Independence DayGazetted Holiday
Sunday16. Aug. 2020Parsi New Year’s day/NaurajRestricted Holiday
Saturday22. Aug. 2020Vinayaka Chaturthi /Ganesh ChaturthiRestricted Holiday
Sunday30. Aug. 2020MuharramGazetted Holiday
Monday31. Aug. 2020Onam or Thiru onam dayRestricted Holiday
Friday2. Oct. 2020Mahatma Gandhi JayantiGazetted Holiday
Friday23. Oct. 2020Dussehra (Maha Saptami) (Additional)Restricted Holiday
Saturday24. Oct. 2020Dussehra (Maha Ashtami) (Maha Navmi) (Additional)Restricted Holiday
Sunday25. Oct. 2020DussehraGazetted Holiday
Monday26. Oct. 2020Vijay Dashmi (Bengal, Kerala)Restricted Holiday
Friday30. Oct. 2020Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad)Gazetted Holiday
Saturday31. Oct. 2020Maharishi Valmiki’s BirthdayRestricted Holiday
Wednesday4. Nov. 2020Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chouth)Restricted Holiday
Saturday14. Nov. 2020Diwali (Deepavali) (G) Naraka Chaturdasi (R)Gazetted Holiday / Restricted Holiday
Sunday15. Nov. 2020Govardhan PujaRestricted Holiday
Monday16. Nov. 2020Bhai DujRestricted Holiday
Friday20. Nov. 2020Pratihar Sashthi or Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja)Restricted Holiday
Tuesday24. Nov. 2020Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom DayRestricted Holiday
Monday25. Nov. 2020Guru Nanak’s BirthdayGazetted Holiday
Thursday24. Dec. 2020Christmas EveRestricted Holiday
Friday25. Dec. 2020Christmas DayGazetted Holiday