Chandigarh, March 16: After a sweeping victory in Punjab Assembly Elections, Captain Amarinder Singh was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Punjab on Thursday for the second time. He took the oath of Chief Minister along with other cabinet ministers at a swearing-in ceremony organised in Governor house.

Captain Amarinder Singh was born in the royal family of Patiala. He served as the Captain in the Indian Army in the war of 1965 in administrative capacities. Soon, he had to resign after his father Maharaja Yadavindra Singh was appointed Ambassador to Italy. His political career began with the Congress in 1980 when he was elected as the Member of Parliament. However, he resigned from the Congress after the storming of the Golden Temple in Operation Blue Star.

After quitting congress, he joined the Akali Dal. He also served as the Agriculture minister in Surjit Singh Barnala government. However, he returned to Congress in 1997 when he merged his party Panthic Akali Dal to Congress. His political career was marred with several defeats. He unsuccessfully fought Parliamentary elections from Patiala in 1998. After heading Congress as President, he became the Chief Minister for the first time in 2002.

Captain Amarinder Singh took the oath of Chief Minister along with nine cabinet Ministers in Raj Bhawan In Chandigarh. Here is a short profile of his cabinet ministers.

Brahm Mohindra

Captain Amarinder Singh took care of the Hindu Community of the state by appointing Braham Mohindra in the Cabinet. He has given the portfolio of Minister of Health.

Manpreet Badal

Manpreet Singh Badal won the Bathinda Urban seat for Punjab Assembly Election. He received 63,942 votes and won by a huge margin of  18,480 votes. Manpreet Singh Badal was followed by AAP candidate Deepak Bansal who had received 45,462 votes.

Navjot Singh Sidhu

Navjot Singh Sidhu succeeded in securing a cabinet berth in the government. He was one of the important faces fielded by Congress in the Majha region. He won the Amritsar seat by defeating his nearest rival Rajesh Kumar Honey from the Bharatiya Janta Party. He won the elections by a huge margin of 42809 votes in the elections. He has also represented the Amritsar Parliamentary Constituency twice in the Lok Sabha.

Sadhu Singh Dharamsot

Captain Amarinder Singh took care of the votes of Scheduled Castes in his cabinet. Sadhu Singh Dharamsot represents the Bazigar community in the government. He won the Nabha seat in Punjab assembly elections.

Tript Rajinder Bajwa

Tript Singh Bajwa was a Minister in the Congress government between March 2003 and August 2004. He won the Fatehgarh Churian Seat by a narrow margin of 1999 votes. He defeated Nirmal Singh Kahlon of Shiromani Akali Dal.

Rana Gurjeet Singh

Rana Gurjeet Singh came in limelight when he declared assets worth Rs 170 crore in his affidavit to the Election Commission. He was the richest in Punjab Assembly Elections this year.

Charanjit Singh Channi

Charanjit Singh Channi was the leader of the Congress Legislature Party in the last Punjab Assembly. He has won the Chamkaur Sahib Seat thrice.

Aruna Chaudhary

Aruna Chaudhary has been given the portfolio of Minister of State. She has represented the Dina Nagar Seat thrice. She is the Daughter-in-law of veteran politician and four-time MLA Jai Muni Chaudhary.

Razia Sultana

Razia Sultana is only Muslim Woman in Amarinder Singh Cabinet. She has been given the portfolio of Minister of State.