Punjab Assembly Poll 2022: Congress Releases First List of 86 Candidates, Fields Sidhu From Amritsar East | Full List Here

Punjab Assembly Election 2022: The ruling party in the state has fielded Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi from Chamkaur Sahib.

Updated: January 15, 2022 3:42 PM IST

By India.com News Desk | Edited by Manmath Nayak

Siddharth Chattopadhyay, Iqbal Preet Singh Sahota, IPS, Indian Police Service officer, Punjab, Charanjit Singh Channi, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Congress, Punjab Politics, BJP, BSP, DGP,
The Punjab Assembly polls will take place in a single phase on February 14.

Punjab Assembly Election 2022: The Congress on Saturday released the first list of 86 candidates for the upcoming assembly polls in Punjab. In the candidate list, the ruling party in the state has fielded Chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi from Chamkaur Sahib, while State Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu will fight from Amritsar East.

Also Read:

As per the list, Pratap Singh Bajwa will contest from Qadian and singer Sidhu Moosewala from Mansa. Moreover, actor Sonu Sood’s sister Malvika Sood, who recently joined the Congress, will contest from Moga.

Full list of candidates here:

This time, the Congress has fielded Punjab deputy CMs — Sukhjinder Randhawa from Dera Baba Nanak and Om Prakash Soni from Amritsar Central.

Former PCC president and campaign committee chief Sunil Jakhar will not contest the assembly polls and his nephew Sandeep Jakhar will contest the Abohar assembly seat instead.

Similarly, Punjab minister Brahm Mohindra will not contest and his son Mohit Mohindra will contest from Patiala rural assembly seat in his place.

Among other sitting Punjab ministers, Manpreet Singh Badal will contest from Bathinda Urban, Vijay Inder Singla from Sangrur, Razia Sultana from Malerkotla, Gurkirat Singh Kotli from Khanna, Rana Gurjit Singh from Kapurthala, Tript Rajinder Bajwa from Fatehgarh Churian, Randeep Singh Nabha from Amloh, Amarinder Singh Raja Warring from Gidderbaha, Pargat Singh from Jalandhar Cantt.

Other ministers like Sangat Singh Gilzian has been fielded from Urmar, Raj Kumar Verka from Amritsar West-SC, Sukhbinder Sarkaria from Rajasansi, Bharat Bhushan Ashu from Ludhiana West. Former deputy chief minister Rajinder Kaur Bhattal has been fielded from Lehragaga.

The list was released after the party’s central election committee chaired by party chief Sonia Gandhi cleared the names in its meeting held on Thursday.

According to the earlier announcement by the EC, the Punjab Assembly polls will take place in a single phase on February 14 and the counting of votes and results will be out on March 10.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on India.com.

Published Date: January 15, 2022 3:29 PM IST

Updated Date: January 15, 2022 3:42 PM IST