Live Updates

  • 2:34 PM IST
    Punjab Rural Poll Results 2018:
    Punjab Zila Parishad Election results:
    Total Seats = 354
    Congress Won = 85
    Shiromani Akali Dal Won = 8
  • 2:32 PM IST
    Punjab Rural Poll Results 2018:
    Punjab Block Samiti Election Results:
    Total Block Samiti = 2972
    Congress Won = 695
    Shiromani Akali Dal = 102
    AAP = 7
    Others = 26
  • 2:16 PM IST

    Punjab Rural Poll Results 2018: Till now, Congress party has bagged 624 Block Samiti seats in Punjab while Akali Dal won 70. Counting underway

  • 2:07 PM IST

    Punjab Rural Poll Results 2018; Congress won 21 seats in Roop Nagar Zila Parishad. On the hand, the party has bagged 10 seats in Pathankot Zila Parishad. Counting underway.

  • 2:05 PM IST

    Punjab Rural Poll Results 2018: Congress bags all 25 zones of Batala Block Samiti in Gurdaspur.

  • 2:02 PM IST
    Punjab Rural Poll Results 2018: Congress party workers in Punjab started celebrations after their party’s winning performance in Block Samiti and Zila Parishad elections.
  • 1:48 PM IST
    Punjab Rural Election Results 2018:
    Total Zilla Parishad Seats = 354
    Congress = 49
    Shiromani Akali Dal = 4
  • 1:14 PM IST

  • 1:01 PM IST

    Punjab Rural Election Results 2018: Of the total 354 Zilla Parishad Seats, Congress won 46 and SAD 4. BJP gets Fazilka.

New Delhi: The counting of votes for Punjab rural election 2018 (22 zila parishads and 150 panchayat samitis) will begin at 8 AM on Saturday. As per a report, elaborate arrangements have been made by Jalandhar administration  at 11 counting centres set up across the district. Around 900 police personnel have been deployed at the counting centre to avoid untoward incidents, Deputy Commissioner of Jalandhar Varinder Kumar Sharma said. “To ensure transparency, the entire process of counting would be video-graphed ,” Sharma added. Also Read - Must Watch | After 'Kamal, Kamal', BJP Leader's Breathless 'Corona Corona' Chant Goes Viral

Polling to the zila parishads and panchayat samitis held on September 19 amid tight security arrangements. The voting started at 8 AM and continued till 4 PM in the evening. With the Congress being touted as the favourite to win the zila parishads and panchayat samitis after a gap of 10 years, the main contest will remain between the ruling party and the SAD-BJP alliance. Also Read - 'Stand Together With Govt But Sudden Lockdown Created Immense Panic', Rahul Gandhi Writes to PM

While the ruling Congress is confident of a “clean sweep” in the local body polls, both the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party coalition and the Aam Aadmi Party are also optimistic about their victory. Also Read - AAP MLA Raghav Chadha Claims UP CM Yogi Adityanath Getting Migrants 'Thrashed'; Cops Register FIR

On Tuesday, a day before polls the opposition parties had expressed the fear of “large-scale booth capturing” allegedly at the behest of Congress workers. They claimed that the ruling party wanted to win these polls “by hook or by crook”.

Thirty three candidates were earlier elected unopposed to various zila parishads and 369 nominees were declared elected unopposed to the panchayat samitis.  A total of 1,27,87,395 registered voters, comprising 60,99,053 women and 97 third-gender voters exercised their franchise on Wednesday.