Purnia Constituency Result: Counting of votes for Purnia Assembly Constituency which went to polls on November 7 has been completed and BJP’s Vijay Kumar Khemka has won. Also Read - Rajya Sabha Seat Left Vacant After Ram Vilas Paswan's Death May Not go to LJP Again - This is Why

The Purnia assembly constituency is the 62nd Vidhan Sabha seat and is part of the Purnia district that shares an inter-state border. The Purnia constituency is the largest city in Bihar’s northeastern region and is popularly called ‘Mini Darjeeling’. Also Read - 13 Out of 15 Bihar Ministers Are Crorepatis, Highest From BJP: Report

A semi-urban seat, Purnia has been a BJP stronghold since 2000 with sitting MLA Vijay Kumar Khemka who was in the fray for elections again this year. In 2015, BJP’s Vijay Kumar Khemka defeated Congress candidate Indu Sinha by a margin of 32,815 votes, accounting for 17.57 per cent of the total votes polled in the constituency. BJP had a vote share of 49.26% in 2015 in the seat. Also Read - Poor Show in Bihar Polls: Khurshid Slams Sibal, Sonia Calls Panel Meet For 'Introspection'

The 2020 elections saw a total of 3,07,273 eligible electors, of which 1,61,046 were male, 1,45,938 female and nine voters were of the third gender.

As it happened:

1 PM: BJP’s Vijay Kumar Khemka has taken a lead over 9,100 votes against Congress’ Indu Sinha.

10 AM: Early trends show Vijay Kumar Khemka of BJP leading

8.00 am: Counting of votes begin