Ahmedabad, Nov 27: The constituencies of Radhanpur, Chanasma, Patan, Sidhpur will go for poll as part of the Gujarat Assembly elections on December 9 and December 14. All these constituencies are in the Patan district of the state. The main fight is between the incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the challenger Indian National Congress (INC). Apart from that, several independent, regional and national parties will contest the elections too. Also Read - AAP Sweeps Delhi MCD Bypolls, Arvind Kejriwal Says People Now Want Good Work In Municipality Too

Radhanpur Also Read - Karnataka Sex Tape Scandal: As Ramesh Jarkiholi Resigns, Here's a List of Past Political Controversies

Radhanpur Constituency will go for polls in the second phase, which means elections will be held here on December 14, 2017. In 2017, the BJP has fielded Lavingji Thakor from Radhanpur constituency. On the other hand, the Congress fielded Alpesh Zala from the constituency. Also Read - Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2021: AIADMK, DMK Continue Seat-sharing Talks, Fate of Sasikala to be Decided

In 2012, the BJP’s Nagarji Harchandji Thakor won 69493 votes to secure the seat, while the Congress’s Bhavsinhji Dayaji Rathod secured 65659 votes.


In the second phase of the assembly polls in Gujarat, also will vote the Chanasma constituency. Presently, the BJP’s Dilipkumar Virajibhai Thakor is the MLA from the constituency.

This year, the BJP has fielded Dilipji Virji Thakor for the Chanasma seat. On the other hand, the Congress has fielded Raghu Desai from the constituency.

In 2012 polls, BJP’s Dilipkumar Virajibhai Thakor secured 83462 votes, while the Congress’s Aataji Dineshbhai Thakor could secure only  66638 votes.


Patan constituency is set to go for polls on December 14 as it is in the second phase as well. For assembly elections 2017, the BJP has fielded Ranchhodbhai Rabari. The Indian National Congress has fielded Dr. Dr. Kirit Patel from the constituency.

In 2012, Congress candidate Jodhaji Galabji Thakor lost the seat to BJP’s Ranchhodbhai Mahijibhai Desai. Desai won the seat with 67224  votes while Congress’s Thakor could secure 61353 votes.


Another fort of the Congress with a sitting MLA, Sidhpur constituency will go for polls in the second phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections on December 14, 2017.

For the 2017 polls, Congress has fielded Chandan Thakor.

In 2012, Congress candidate Balvantsinh Chandansinh Rajput won the seat with 87518 votes. On the other hand, the BJP lost this seat with its candidate Jaynarayan Vyas who secured 61694 votes.


The Gujarat assembly election 2017 results will be declared on December 18. Stay with us receive latest news and updates about the assembly polls in the state.