New Delhi: Days ahead of the Rajasthan Assembly Election 2018, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party has suspended 11 senior leaders including four ministers in Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje’s cabinet from the primary membership of the party for six years. Reports claimed that the party took the action after the leaders refused to withdraw their nominations for the upcoming polls in favour of alternative candidates picked by the party.Also Read - Petrol, Diesel Prices Surge to Record-High Levels, Costs 33% More Than Aviation Fuel | Check City-Wise Rates

Issuing a press release, the BJP said that 11 rebel leaders Surendra Goyal, Lakshminarayan Dave, Radheshyam Ganganagar, Hemsingh Bhadana, Rajkumar Rinava, Rameshwar Bhati, Kuldeep Dhankad, Deendayal Kumavat, Kishanram Nai, Dhansingh Rawat and Anita Katara have been dropped from the party’s primary membership for six years.  After being suspended, a number of MLAs resigned from the BJP. Also Read - TMC MP Sushmita Dev's Convoy Vandalised in Tripura, Party Alleges BJP Behind Attack

Earlier also the party had dropped several sitting MLAs as Vasundhara Raje-led Rajasthan government is said to be facing a strong anti-incumbency mood. BJP President Amit Shah and Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje have travelled across the state extensively. Also Read - World's Largest Political Party...: Uddhav Thackeray Takes Dig at Former Ally

Besides BJP, the Congress party is also said to have over 40 rebel leaders, including four former ministers. A couple of days ago, senior leaders Sachin Pilot, Ajay Maken, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Avinash Pande, Mukul Wasnik and Devendra Yadav met at the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) in Jaipur and reportedly tried to woo rebel leaders who have been denied party tickets.

Speaking to reporters after the meet, Avinash Pande claimed that the party is in regular contact with the rebel leaders. “They are not rebels, but workers of the party. They have filed nominations due to their eagerness, but we are talking to them. They will be given respect and responsibilities when we form the government,” a leading portal quoted Pande as saying.

Single phase polls for the 200-member Rajasthan Assembly will be held on December 7 and the results will be declared on December 11.