Rajasthan Assembly Election 2018: Congress Heavyweight Ashok Gehlot Pitted Against Shambhu Singh Khetasar in Sardarpura

Gehlot has held the seat since 2003.

Published: November 23, 2018 7:46 PM IST

By India.com News Desk

Ashok Gehlot (PTI)
Ashok Gehlot (PTI)

Jaipur: The race to Rajasthan Assembly is hotting up and both the BJP and the Congress are canvassing to get the most seats. In Sardarpura, Congress heavyweight Ashok Gehlot has won both in 2008 and 2013 so he has, in effect, held this seat for a decade now. In 2008, he won this seat with 48,311 votes while in 2013, he won as many as 88,521 seats. There are 2,20,444 voters in the constituency of which, 1,14367 are men while 1,06,077 are women. (Also read: Rahul Gandhi Pulls up CP Joshi Over Comments on PM Modi, Asks Him to Apologise)

Also Read:

Gehlot has again been fielded from Sardarpura while the BJP has pitted Shambhu Singh Khetasar against him. From 1998 to 2013, Gehlot served as the Chief Minister of the state.

The single-phase election would be held on December 7 while the counting of votes would be held on December 11 and the results would be out the same day. The model code of conduct has been in force since the Election Commission announced the poll schedule on October 6. The incumbent Chief Minister, Vasundhara Raje, is the first woman to hold the position. This was her term in the position.

Meanwhile, the ruling BJP has suspended 11 senior leaders, including four ministers in Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje’s Cabinet from the primary membership of the party for six years. Reports claimed that the party took the action after the leaders refused to withdraw their nominations for the upcoming polls in favour of alternative candidates picked by the party.

Earlier, Gyandev Ahuja, who resigned from the BJP after being denied a ticket to contest the elections, was reinstated and appointed BJP’s state vice-president. The development came a few days after he filed nomination as an Independent candidate from Sanganer constituency, which he reportedly withdrew following the appointment.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on India.com.

Published Date: November 23, 2018 7:46 PM IST