Jaipur: In poll-bound Rajasthan, the BJP and the Congress are in for a head-on collision in Sanganer Assembly constituency. The BJP’s Ghanshyam Tiwari has won the seat in both 2008 and 2013. In 2013, Tiwari raced past the nearest rival by netting as much as about 66 % votes. He had improved on his performance of 2008 where he had secured 75,729 votes. The number of voters in Sanganer is 2,96,664 of which there are 1,57,156 men and 1,39,508 women. (Also read: BJP Fields Lone Muslim Candidate Against Pilot) Also Read - Major Setback For Congress in Gujarat as 2 Party MLAs Resign Ahead of Rajya Sabha Polls

However, this seat has also been held by the Congress multiple times. Also, every time that the BJP won from this seat, the Congress was the nearest rival and vice versa. So it would be interesting to watch which way the voter sentiment goes this time. This time, the BJP has fielded Ashok Lahoti against the Congress’ Pushpendra Bharadwaj. Also Read - Fact Check: Pregnant Elephant Was NOT 'Fed' Cracker-Stuffed 'Pineapple' in Kerala's 'Malappuram', Maneka Gandhi Called Out For Communalising Animal's Death

Meanwhile, the ruling BJP and the Congress have both fielded 11 turncoats, hoping that the “parachute” candidates will shine for them in the elections. Voices of dissent are being heard from both parties and sidelined party leaders are quick to cross over to get a chance to contest. Also Read - 'Nobody Will Use New Name': Twitter Slams Union Minister Prakash Javadekar's 'Historic' Priority to Rename Kolkata Port Amid COVID-19, Economic Crisis

The ruling BJP alone has fielded seven defectors, including six from the Congress and one from the BSP.

The elections would be held in one phase on December 7. Counting of votes would be held on December 11 and results would be out on the same day. The model code of conduct has been enforced since October 6 when the Election Commission announced the poll schedule.